The LPA 50-Year Club

Nominations are being sought for the Louisiana Press Association Fifty Year Club.  Persons with 50 or more years of service in the newspaper industry are eligible for nomination.  Please search your files, communities, minds, etc. to identify anyone who has worked for our industry for at least 50 years.  Correspondent, carrier, high school, college and military newspaper service should be considered in calculating length of service.

Past Inductees

1990             Ralph Bienvenu, Abbeville Meridional

Jo Cart, Rayne Independent

Myrta Fair Craig, Rayne Acadian Tribune

Charles P. Manship, Jr., State Times-Morning Advocate, Baton Rouge

William C. Risinger, Alexandria Daily Town Talk


1991             Ray F. Dill, Houma Daily Courier

Ivy J. Smith, Houma Daily Courier

L.D. Young, Jr., West Side Journal, Port Allen

A.N. Dawson, Jr., Alexandria Daily Town Talk


1992             Ansley H. Colvin, Jr., The Jackson Independent, Jonesboro

Lester G. Colvin, The Jackson Independent, Jonesboro

T.L. Colvin, Sr., The Jackson Independent, Jonesboro

Bill Chapman, Bastrop Daily Enterprise


1993             Fred Bandy, The Daily Iberian, New Iberia

Frank J. Budde, The Times, Shreveport

Earl Cobb, The Times-Picayune, New Orleans


1994             Joseph Bosley, Madison Journal, Tallulah

Lou Major, Sr., The Daily News, Bogalusa

Willis Reed, Baton Rouge Post


1995             Bill Irwin, Amite Digest, Kentwood News


1996             Robert H. Fackelman, Jennings Daily News

Peter Finney, The Times-Picayune, New Orleans

Douglas L. Manship, Sr., The Advocate, Baton Rouge

Clyde S. Miller, Madison Journal, Tallulah

Anne K. Price, The Advocate, Baton Rouge

Evelyn Short, The Advocate, Baton Rouge

Joe D. Smith, Jr., Alexandria Daily Town Talk

Erbon and Marie Wise, Southwest Daily News, Sulphur


1997             Bernard Curet, Pointe Coupee Banner, New Roads


1998             Vincent Marino, The Advertiser, Lafayette

Adolph C. Renaud, The Times, Shreveport


1999             Sue Eakin, The Bunkie Record, Bunkie


2000             Fred “Pat” Achor, The Times-Picayune, New Orleans

Vera Hardman, St. Tammany Farmer, Covington


2001                          Annabelle McGuire Armstrong, South Baton Rouge Journal


2002                          John Blanchard, The Enterprise and Interstate Progress, Mansfield

Don Kingery, American Press, Lake Charles

Lovan Thomas, Natchitoches Times


2004             Jerry & Joy Wise, DeQuincy News

Raymond P. “Doc” Jeffress, Jackson Independent (Jonesboro)

Robert Gentry, The Sabine Index (Many)

Sam A. Hanna, Sr., Concordia Sentinel (Ferriday)




Nomination Form


Name of nominee: _________________________________________________


Number of years employed in newspaper business: _______________________


Is the nominee presently employed? ___________________________________


If yes, where? ______________________________ Job title _______________


Please include brief biography if possible.


Locations worked

No. of Years

















Nomination submitted by:    _______________________________________


Title:       _______________________________________


Newspaper:         _______________________________________


Date:         _______________________________________


Please complete this form and mail along with photo to Louisiana Press Association, 50 Year Club Nominations, 404 Europe St., Baton Rouge, LA  70802 by March 10, 2005.


Honorees will be recognized at the Annual Convention in Baton Rouge on April 16, 2005.  If you have questions, please call LPA (225) 344-9309 or (800) 701-8753.